My Book

Meet My MC – A Writers’ Linkup!

One question I’ve been finding myself getting a lot recently is: Mary. WHAT DA HECK IS YOUR BOOK ABOUT?

^yup. phrased just like that.

This is how my brain reacts:

tumblr_ncflbfrEpt1t5a2bro1_500

Suddenly my brain immediately re-lives the years of writing the book, then the month of line editing, then destroying the whole thing, and then having the genius idea to become a plotter, and THEN-

Yeah way too much to think about.

So usually my answer to anyone is:

UHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH-

Which is obviously SO helpful, lemme tell you.

SO…when I saw this Writer’s Linkup hosted by the awesome Maya going around the blogosphere, I was like: HEyyyyyYYYYYyy…this is a great time for you guys to learn a bit more about my book!!

So let’s get started!

Screen Shot 2019-02-10 at 2.39.03 PM

meet-my-mc

 

The Questions:

1. Introduce your MC. What’s their name? Age? Appearance? (Sharing collages/inspiration photos encouraged!)

Alrighty guys!

LET’S GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

giphy-1

The protagonist of my book is Will! He’s about fifteen, with spiky dark brown hair and warm brown eyes. He’s also a pretty tall kid for his age.

And collages are always awesome, so here’s a few I made recently!!!

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 2.54.37 PM

Gray Collage

Brown Collage

Okay, yeah, a few of them have the same pictures, BUT DO YOU LIKE THEM OR WHAT?

 

2. Explain how your MC fits into the plot of your book (as best you can without spoiling it all…)

Well, uh…the book is ABOUT Will. SO. He fits right in *smiles pleasantly*.

Butttt I guess he really doesn’t, ’cause he’s a super big outcast. He ends up getting blamed for something huge, which leads to him being thrown into a whirlwind of trouble that basically just gets worse and worse! don’t worry it’s not a depressing book. Not really anyway hehehe… 

 

3. What’s the first thing your MC says in the story? The last? A random quote from the middle that you like?

*starts sweating nervously*

Okay, so, I’ve, like…gone on sprints of writing out scenes from my book that are just so epic that I need to write it down, but…I’m still in the plotting phase! So my response to this question is, once again:

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH-

4JjL

How ’bout this. I’ll tell you the first, last, and middle quotes that Will says in my first ever draft of this crazy book!

Brace yourselves:

First Line:

Will sat up with a small groan. “I’m a growing kid, I need some sleep.”

*decides this is a really embarrassing plan and I will hide in a hole while you read the rest*

92dcf4f0249aa106ff929aec7636a7f0

 

A Middle Line: (I literally did the math and this is the middle page)

“Nooooo, what time is it?” Will groaned.

Oh my gosh…this is too funny…even halfway through a bajillion pages later, Will still needs his beauty sleep *slinks back into hidey-hole to laugh and maybe cry a little*

 

Last Line: (okay, the REAL last line is a super dramatic cliffhanger WHICH SPOILS EVERYTHING, so I’m giving you guys the second-to last)

Will sighed. “It’s most likely that my parents gave that to me.”

Dude. *climbs outta hidey-hole and glares in annoyance at quotes* All three of these quotes makes Will sound like such a WIMP.

OKAY, MOVING ON. 

 

4. Which other character would die for your MC?

Literally all of them (Anya, Tom, Faith, Emma) would die for Will in a heartbeat. Although if they died that would mean their hearts would stop beating. But ya know what I mean. Okay this is getting weird moving onnnn…

 

5. Would your MC die for them?

Yes. Sometimes he might not know it, but deep down Will would die for ANYONE.

 

6. Have any major details about your MC changed since you first created them?

c3e41fb0e3693b456d334ecd6c6d5281

WELL.

LEMME TELL YA SOMETHING.

My entire BOOK has changed since I first created it.

But for Will specifically…well, all of him has changed. But honestly after thinking about it for a while, I realized that the most important thing was this: Surprise! Will used to be a secondary character.

giphy

Anya literally used to be my protagonist. I only wanted her to be the protagonist ’cause she had a cool part in the story and was a girl. (Cause I, like, did not want to base a book around a boy when I was like nine or ten).

But after doing some digging, I discovered that Will was the true protagonist of the story. And here I am now!

 

7. What characters (from books/movies not by you) remind you of your MC? Why?

Guys, go check out my Pinterest boards. Just saying. although Pinterest is being rude to me and not allowing me to change any of my board covers as well as switch my boards around for those viewing it *sniffs angrily*

Besides that, an actor named Max Charles has actually been a big inspiration for someone who looks like Will!

(He t’would be the random little kid in the collages before, by the way).

 

8. Share your MC’S favourites! (color, food, type of clothing, place, type of music, season, smell etc.)

Will’s a boy soooo he doesn’t care too much about clothes and such. or maybe I just haven’t cared yet. Maybe riding clothes ’cause he loves horses?

I believe his favorite color is either red or blue, I don’t think I’ve even decided that much yet.

Annddd he loves swords later on.

A very key feature I obviously had to tell you.

 

9. If your MC wasn’t involved in your story, what would they be doing? (Basically: what’s their dream life? Where do they want to live, what do they want to do?)

You know…Will’s dream would be to just, well, have a normal life. I know that sounds so cliche but MAN he’s had it rough. If he could take this all back and turn it into a happy-every-after story, he’d want a nice home with his parents where he could spend his days romping around and riding on horses.

*starts crying again because this can basically never happen and you guys are probably all really confused*

 

10. Share a fun extra (another collage, a playlist, a scene from the story, a drawing, etc).

OOH THIS SOUNDS COOL.

WHAT IF I DID THEM ALL?

…okay yeah I can’t do that.

Here’s something fun though!

Not a playlist, but, this song just makes me FEEL my book. Like, it would be the song for my trailer if my book was getting turned into a movie.

I love it so much.

And you must listen to it.

(it’s very epic by the way, so prepared yourself. 100% listen until the end, though!)

And OF COURSE, if I don’t give you guys a snippet, you’re going to kill me. So I choose life.

tenor

*Note: this may or may not ever make it into the book, and is currently a very unedited piece of work. My grammar, tenses, and whole bucket-full of other stuff could be very wrong. But I thought I’d share it with you anyway!

 

“It is quite clear, Will,” Ruke said in a low voice, “that you are the cause of angering Earth. Now, how do you propose we fix that?”

I hesitated, “…I stop working in the fields?”.

Ruke laughed darkly, “No, Will. Earth is all around you. Even if you were to forgo your community chores, you will inevitably need to step outside. And once you do, Earth will react.” 

It was silent then, but for the slow ticking of an expensive clock, probably manufactured from Montu itself. Suddenly, it occurred to me that Ruke was waiting for me to prod him along.

 I cleared my throat awkwardly, “So…sir…how would you suggest we go about this then?”

Ruke’s lips curled into an unnerving smile. “So glad you asked, boy.” Ruke spun on his heel and far too slowly stalked back to his chair, his shoes making a clipping sound that echoed in exact time with the clock. Ruke finally made it to his chair, and theatrically sank into it. He then leaned forwards, clasping his meaty hands together. “So. Clearly you are a young boy of great intelligence. Clearly, I can see, you do want to solve this problem. So, I know that you will agree with me when I say this: the only way to get rid of this problem…is to get rid of the problem.”

All blood drained from my face. “No.” I hadn’t realized the whispery words had come from me until I registered the cold expression on Ruke’s face.

“Boy.” He said, all demeanor gone. “I am right. You, Will No-Name, are a curse to Athwil and everyone in it. And so, as acting leader of this town, I must get rid of this curse.” His eyes flashed angrily as he threw back his chair, standing up. “I must get rid of you.”

Screen Shot 2019-02-10 at 2.39.03 PM

 

PHEW. WE MADE IT. I hope you guys had fun meeting Will!! Super dramatic note to end off on there for the snippet, but hey, I had to do it.

*Scavenger hunt friends!!!! Your Next Clue: On your right you will find Characters, an antagonist who is curdling. Inside you will find your next clue, when he’s still screaming.

okay it doesn’t exactly rhyme but I’m like way too proud of it.

and please tell me if you can’t figure it out because that would be very bad.

And if anyone who hasn’t heard of the scavenger hunt going on, I recommend taking a look at this post because it’s already a LOT of fun!! 

why does that sentence sound like it’s trying to rhyme…?

 

Do you guys like my collages?

And my snippets?

And my total rhyming skills?

 

tenor copy 11

 

Like these posts? Wanna have more? Subscribe to my email list to receive inside info and lots of fun! 

 

I hope you enjoyed this post! If you have any questions or thoughts, leave a comment down below.

Thanks for reading!

Mary

68 thoughts on “Meet My MC – A Writers’ Linkup!”

  1. Ahhh I love your collages! Will sounds like an awesome guy 🙂 also, literally my MC used to be a secondary character too, so *high fives* I guess we had the same awesome idea that will make our books SO MUCH BETTER now?!

    Thank you for doing the linkup!! *grins*

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Maya!!! Ooh yay, I hope so 😆 *gasps* Whhhhat!? That is awesome!! *high fives you back* YES! YAY US!!
      You’re welcome!! It was honestly so much fun to do 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just spent a good few minutes trying to find a way to introduce myself without sounding weird or like I was just here for the scavenger hunt and completely failed at that sooooo… I’m here for the scavenger hunt and really enjoyed your post and will be sticking around your blog!!!!!! *takes a deep breath* There was probably a way to say that without exclamation points but that wouldn’t be as fun.
    Also, I found the clue!! I think you did a great job making the clue!!! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi Jane!! Haha no worries, I totally get that 😂 Ooh awesome!!! Welcome to Wild Writing Dreams-I hope you like it!! (Ikr, but, like, exclamation points are the BEST).
      Oooh yay! Phew, that’s good 😅 It’d probably be pretty bad if no one could find it haha

      Liked by 2 people

  3. YOU DID THE LINKUP??!!!! *happy dance* AAHHH THIS HAS GOT TO BE ONE OF MY FAVORITE POST EVER OF YOURS!!!!!!!! (Wait, who am I kidding? I love all the posts!!!!!) Oh well, but this was still SUPER AWESOME!!!!! I JUST LOVE YOUR CHARACTER WILL!!!!!!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOOOOVVVEEEE your collages!! *heart eyes* I have literally been wondering what your novel was about soo this was SUPER EPIC TO READ!!!! AND I LOVE DA GIFS!!!!!!!! They were HILARIOUS! 🤣🤣🤣 The snippet!! *gasp* It was just AHHHH!!! I HAVE to read this book sometime!!! (Also, SUPER AWESOME rhyming skills going on!! XD 😆 I think I know where to look. I’m gonna go see if I’m right!! THANKS again for joining in the scavenger hunt!! *hugs*)
    Is OUT! 😎

    Liked by 4 people

    1. YYYEAHHHH I DID!! (I saw it going around but then I only got inspired to do it after you did it 😆) OOOH YAY!! Actually I really like this post too 😂 (Ahahaha thank you)
      Ahhhhh thank you thank you thank you for literally everything in your comment!!!
      Yayyy so glad!! AND YES DA GIFS. Ahhh yes, you will read this book one day!!! I promise!!
      (ooh, why thank you 😆)
      Awesome!! Yes, and thank you for asking me to join in!!
      Ahaha, I’m going to have to copy that sign-off sometime 😂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Awww, girl, you’re totally welcome for EVERYTHING!!!!!!!! <33 WHOOO!!!!! I'm gonna remember that about me going to read that book one day!!! 🙂
        Go ahead!! I actually stole that sign-off from someone else, sooo….😂🤫

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I loved learning a little about your MC here! He sounds really interesting. I really like your collages! What program did you use to make them? And wow, that snippet really makes me want to read your book!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Kristianne!!! I used Powerpoint for the first one, and Canva for the other two. Here’s a link if you wanna check out Canva: (https://www.canva.com).
      Yayyy that’s awesome!! I’m hoping to work really hard and get this book out into the world in a couple of years. Or as fast as I can 😂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s really neat! I do use Canva, I’ve just never seen those collage templates before. 😄
        Yay!! That’s so exciting! I would love to read it someday.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh cool!! Honestly, I’d never seen the collage templates either until I saw this other blogger show a collage which I could tell was definitely made in Canva. So I just typed in ‘collages’ in the search-bar on like the homepage and there they all were!
        Oh thank you!! I’m so glad 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This post was fun to read! I enjoyed learning about Will.
    I can totally relate when someone asks what your book is about and panic sets in. It’s not like I can’t explain it to them, it’s just that I feel kind of awkward talking about my books. *nervous laugh* And the quote about getting flashbacks from things you don’t want to remember is something that tortures my own poor characters!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Awesome post! Also, the collages? 👌 So aesthetic. Especially because the featured image is the same picture I have for my own character. So obviously you have good taste. 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Oooh. That little snippet has me intrigued! You definitely have an enticing premise, and Will sounds like a fun character to follow. It’s really cool that he started out as a secondary character. Isn’t it amazing how people that we made up can surprise us?

    Liked by 2 people

  8. WOW WOW WOW – WE GET TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR MC!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!😃😃😃😃😃 WOO-HOO!!!!!!!! The gifs were A-MA-ZZING!!!!!!! My favorites would be the “start panicking” one and the one from Kung Fu Panda!!!😆 Your collages are incredible!!!!!!!! And the quote “can you remember who you were” was sooooo intriguing!!!!!!!!! That snippet was INCREDIBLY FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so hooked!!! You are such a talented writer! Now I can’t wait to read your book! And the song “In the Stars” was so beautiful!
    You totally have some amazing rhyming skills.😉😂
    Annnndddd . . . now I’m going to go read the post with the clue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES YES YES YOU REALLY DO!!!! Thank youuuuuuu! Ahahaha yes I love those ones 😂 Ahhh thank you so much!! Yess I love that quote! THANK YOU LIKE A MILLION TIMES OVER KATHERINE!!!!! Ahhh yes, I LOVE that song!!
      Hehehehe why thank you 😝 😂
      Yayyy!! Have fun!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Heeeeeyyyyy, Mary!!!!
    First of all, I’m new here (as you could probably tell) and kinda just came for the scavenger hunt, BUT from what I’ve already seen YOUR BLOG IS HANDS DOWN AWESOME. So I will DEFINITELY be sticking around!!!! Also, those books on your Greatest Books Ever page? Girl, give me a high five. XD Fawkes and the Keeper of the Lost Cities series are my favorite books EVER!!!! And before you ask, I’m a hardcore Keefe fan, too. 😉 HE’S LIKE THE BEST CHARACTER IN THE WHOLE SERIES!!!!!!!!! If Disney messes him up in the movies I will not be a very happy camper. XD
    But ANYWAY, to wrap this up I gotta say, your character Will sounds TOTALLY EPIC. Like, LOOK AT THAT WITTLE FACE OF HIS!!!!!!! And, and, and, his love for sleeping (at least in the first draft) sounds just like me!!!! XD Soooo yeah. Learning about your story was super fun and it sounds really, REALLY cool! 😀 Thanks so much for sharing!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Heeyyyy Victoria!!!
      Oooh, well then, firstly I shall say: WELCOME!! *gives you loads of chocolate* Aww thank you SO much, that’s so awesome to hear!!
      *gasps super loudly* you can have a huge high-five. GO FAWKES AND KOTLC!!!! *gasps even MORE loudly* All you needed to say was ‘hardcore Keefe fan’ and now we’re best friends 😂 HE IS THOUGH!!!!! And oh my gosh, Disney CANNOT mess him up!
      Thank you!! I KNOW RIGHT HIS WITTLE FACE. Ahahah…I just realized that sounds WAY too much like me, too 😂
      Ahh thank you SO much for this whole comment, Victoria!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. That was SO fun!!! Will sounds awesome! For some reason I kept thinking “oh, he sounds like he’d be friends with Keefe” at the start 😝 *proof I love kotlc too much*
    But anyway, I really want to read your book now!
    And I’m too lazy to find out about the scavenger hunt *sob*

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yayy! Thank you!! Ahahah, I feel like if they were put in a book together they would end up becoming friends 😆
      Yay I’m so glad!! Although now I must actually WRITE this thing 😂
      Ahahaha. That’s alright-but if you ever wanna do it you’ll have a head start already ’cause my blog was the second clue! 😆

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s okay!! I’ll give you a hint and if you’re still having trouble just let me know 😉 On the right side of my blog I’ve got like a list of Categories I organize my posts into. Click on the one that’s labelled ‘Characters’ and find an antagonist post.
        You can do it!! *waves around cheering pom-poms*

        Liked by 1 person

      2. OOO, I googled it. Google says: If you want to describe a quick movement in almost the same place with one foot or both feet together, use “hop.” … And when the movement goes farther, use the word “jump.”
        New things you learn every day 😆

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I loved learning more about your story!!!!! <333 ^_^ Will sounds great and I absolutely LOVE those collages!!! *gasp* That snippet!!! Oh, no! Poor Will! I also really, really, love your gifs! That Shifu one is SO me when I think about a certain story of mine that has also changed a bajillion times… XD

    Hehe, the next clue! Off I go! XD

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yayyy I’m so glad!! Ahh thank you, Jen!! Hehe, yes, I know, I’m being a horrible writer-torturing my characters and all.
      YES I KNOW RIGHT. The Shifu one I can definitely relate to 😂
      Yay, you can do it!! *waves around pom-poms*

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment